2015 vintage report & a few impressions about the 2014s after bottling

 2015: Tale of a Non-Standard Vintage

– downloadable pdf version –

 

Episode#1: Bud Spencer vs. Wim Wenders

Along any new vintage comes the buzz that soon goes viral on the Web.

Buzz-makers try to write history before any grape has even been harvested, and in this matter 2015 has started in the best of ways, with a controversy.

On the one hand, you have those who have read the vintage out of their Lalique crystal glasses, raving about 2015 as another iconic vintage like ’47, or even ’59!
As far as I am concerned, back in ’47 I was still on orbit so way too far to talk about it.
As for the ’59 vintage, I was curled up and cosy inside my mother’s womb, who had the courage to wait until the end of the harvest to give birth. So from the amniotic sac I remember neither what the weather was like nor the taste of the grapes.
And while later on I was lucky enough to taste some bottles of these great vintages, to be honest I could not really say whether 2015 is made of the same shoots.

On the other hand, doomsayers reckon that 2015 will be a ‘bulldozer’ vintage overpowered by heat and alcohol.

Using the movie metaphor dear to Angelo Gaja -who likes to compare his wines to John Wayne and Marcello Mastroianni-, we could say that assessing the quality of a wine only based on potential alcohol is like reducing cinema to a huge spaghetti western by Bud Spencer. Kiss goodbye to Wim Wenders’ refined and subtle movies! And what about auteur cinema?
All this amounts to assessing the value of a man based on his weight, does it? Let’s just say I won’t go there.

 

Episode#2: Air, Fire & Miraculous Water

However, the vintage’s figures are here that freeze my brains, just like a November fog imperils the last hopes for good weather.

Even though, contrary to what one might think, 2015 has been a very wet year with 703mm (27.68”) of rain from November 2014 to October 2015 – which is a lot compared to an average 562.2mm (22.13”) in the past thirty-six years -, reality is much more intricate.

In fact, as vines were in full growth from May 3 to August 10, we had only 43.5mm (1.78”) of rain, meaning dreadful drought during such a crucial period for the plants.
At 13.95°C (57.11°F), the average annual temperature literally skyrocketed by almost 2°C (3.60°F) from the 2014 peak at 12.08°C (53.74°F). Let’s just say this was previously unseen.

An examination of average temperatures by decades also revealed a steady rise by 0.5°C (0.90°F) per decade from 1980 to today.

The average temperatures were respectively 10.04°C (50.07°F), in the 1980’s, 10.58°C (51.04°F) in the 1990’s, and 11.11°C (52.00°F) from 2000 to 2010. In the recent years from 2010 to 2015, local warming speeded up with a rise by 0.5°C (0.90°F) within the past six years and an average 11.61°C (52.90°F).

I’ll eat my buddy -and soon useless, whatever happens- hat if this is not runaway climate change!

As per my vintage classification according to the four elements, in which I studied the past vintages all the way back to 1980, 2015 is therefore a one-off and the very first Air / fire vintage so far, that is with a Hot and wet character.
 
Figures show that this vintage could have been a disaster. However, as is often the case with Nature, an unexpected weather event changed everything.

Indeed, this long-lasting drought was flanked by two miraculous rains, respectively on the weekend of May 2 with 76mm (2.99”) and on August 10 with 59mm (2.32”).

Safe to say these 2 rains literally saved 2015 and even enabled us to dream of ’47 or ’59, which just goes to show that dreams too hang by a thin thread -of water-!

 

Episode#3: The X Factor

But all this would not have been enough without another factor, I mean the immeasurable energy of men and women who, all year round, have worked in the fields taking care of vines, restoring their balance and fine-tuning them through accurate and careful gestures.

The vintner is like a sun for the vines. And human labour will never be valued enough in making each year a success.

Proof of that is that in 2015 at Domaine Ostertag, we used loads of camomile and yarrow and cow dung compost and cactus extract teas, respectively, in a strive to both mitigate the damage from the burning sun and help vines deal with water management.

We ploughed and harrowed the soil so that it dried into a crust, which helped prevent evaporation. We also rolled the seedlings to flatten them and thus soothe sun exposure. Definitely, the sky is the limit in a vintner’s mind!

Like the vines, we too suffered from drought and heat; we helped vines bear their grapes; we assisted them throughout the season; and, we really experienced the vintage from deep within, from the sap’s point of view.

Because beyond the earth & sky’s basic energies, far beyond the soil and climate, the energy of men and women who shape the vines is to be found.

And this energy is vital. This is the X factor, challenging all known values. You can’t explain it, at least not with 2 plus 2 equals 4. We’re talking here of the green thumb, and in 2015 the X factor prevailed since it enabled the vines to return from their long spell in the wilderness.

 

équipe Albé

 

Episode#4: Harvest Chapter#36

Harvest started on September 10, that is two days after the bottling of the 2014’s.

No time for me to either take a breather or look at the bigger picture and enjoy what had been done so far… Here I was, thrown into the next vintage with a new page to write: Chapter#36 of the Great Cellar Book, a lifetime’s work.

While 2003 was the earliest harvest in the past thirty-six years, with grapes being picked as early as September 1, 2015 is one-of-a-kind, too, with harvest nearly complete and all dry wines in the cellar by late September.

The Pinot Gris were harvested between September 10-11. Since the Pinots really like heat, they were the first to be ripe. And I definitely wanted to avoid having heavy wines. On the opposite, I like my Pinots to be dry and fat, perfectly in line with the modern style we have always been standing for.

The Pinot Blancs & Pinot Noirs followed suit between September 15-16. Never had I seen grapes so healthy, which is very promising for the future.

The Sylvaners were picked between September 18-19. They were awesome, rich of course, yet as well-balanced as keepers usually are. Do not freak out, they will drink beautifully in their youth. I insist on that…

The Rieslings fearing heatwaves, they were a puzzling challenge for us this year. We harvested at full speed during the week of September 21-26. That week was particularly demanding but we managed to pick perfectly ripe grapes, as I guess from this tiny little patch of Muenchberg vieilles vignes (old vines) we harvested on September 30 -i.e. four days later- with already over 15% alcohol. As a result, this will be a totally different wine from the other Rieslings.

Finally, the Gewurztraminers were the only grapes picked in October. They are as rich as they can be, but without botrytis. It was not a botrytis year.
And since our vines are particularly rot-proof, which shows how well-balanced our plant material is, they build a shield that is unbreakable for any kind of rot, the good and the bad alike!

In the end, all grapes without exception combined faultless beauty with a pure taste hardly ever obtained; 2015 has all the trappings of ‘a sound mind in a sound body,’ to quote famous poet Juvenal.

A nice surprise came from the Rieslings. Thanks to an October-like range of temperatures in September, they benefited alternately from cold at night and heat during the day, which is the prerequisite for them to achieve perfect maturity.

First and foremost, 2015 has shown that when you take mindful care of your vines, they in turn outdo themselves and overcome unfriendly circumstances, in order to bring their grapes to the highest level of quality.

 

Episode#5: Sustainable Legacy

The estate’s very first wine was made by my father back in 1966, and I took over from him in 1980.
So my father did 14 vintages, while I’ve done thirty-six and still counting. 2015 will above all be remembered in the estate’s history as the fiftieth vintage.

However, beyond this 50th anniversary, 2015 is also my son Arthur’s first vintage busy in the cellar. He has been working with us since September 1.

Passing down a family business to one’s son is a moving moment in the history of an estate as well as in the life of a father. It reminds me of the 4 x 100 meters relay whereby the decisive moment is the passing on of the baton. It should be carried out over a number of strides, with the two runners being in perfect sync with one another.

The same goes for viticulture: Tuning up is the key to a smooth handing over. You have to sync the youngster’s burst of energy with the rolling gait of the wise man; and to accept the fact that his new relaxed behaviour stretches the limits of your wisdom.
I’ve long been the bottle agitator, the token ‘terroirist’, and the tasting killjoy. Being brought to the other side of the mirror is weird. This is a brand-new situation for me, that helps me better understand the kind of patience my father demonstrated when I was Arthur’s age.

In French, we talk about ‘transmission’. ‘Transmission’ is a balancing act. You give and let go, while still being present; assist but not compel; keep your ego quiet and have your routine shaken up.
The word ‘transmission’ derives from Latin ‘transmissio’ which means ‘sending across’. Thus ‘transmission’ is really like learning to detach. It teaches you a good lesson about life and is a path to yourself, sort of.

Oddly enough, the life of a man is similar to that of a wine:  the latter combines skills and ageing, just like the former is made of a mind ingrained in a body, and both form a whole irreversibly shaped through time.
And while vines enable us to open to the world out there, and to point ourselves out within the universe of the infinitely big and the infinitesimally small, wines help us understand our inner chemistry, changes and biology, thus revealing to us our own transience.

Accepting our own transience is a work on ourselves that helps us age better.
And while ageing beautifully is the preserve of great wines, those deeply rooted in the soil and linked to the sky and transcended by the vintner’s art, aging better is another kind of art, namely the art of detachment. It implies to pass on one’s knowledge as well as soft and hard skills. This is a wonderful way to go beyond one’s own transience, and to last.
     
As a consequence, 2015 stands out -and always will- at Domaine Ostertag because, along with Arthur, Boris and Thomas represent a generation ready to take over what my father and my mother started, back in 1966.

It is now our duty, with them, to turn all these words into wines able to go beyond speeches and to fill your sharp senses with wonder!

 

André Ostertag, Vintner.
Epfig, November 8, 2015.

 

 

2014 : Very last impressions after the autumn bottling

– downloadable pdf version –

 

The more I taste my 2014s the more they remind me of a group of high-spirited colts.

Right before the bottling, the wines were superb, agile and unworried just like these young colts frolicking through their meadow, suprised by every new sensation their bodies perceive.

Then comes the time of the bottling, a tough experience for young undisciplined wines.

It’s like the moment when the colt is freed from the meadow that sheltered him all his youth, but to discover what’s on the other side of the fence, he must tolerate the halter of men and then the colt stiffens inevitably, he tenses up heart and soul and rebels desperately.

The 2014s had a similar reaction to the bottling, and their delicate innocence vanished into a general clenching which blocked the wines .

But slowly they released tension, retrieving their self-confidence, first the Vins de Fruit and then the others, seemingly following a hierarchic order, the greatest and often the proudest last, the Muenchberg barely deigning to loosen one eyelash.

This is why my 2014s remind me so much of these young and proud colts, these future purebred ready to defy space for endless and fantastic cavalcades.

2014 is undoubtedly a purebred vintage, with a lot of character and class, one that will comfortably withstand time. It is a sculptural vintage, made of muscle and finesse, with an incredible energy, a palpable and reinvigorating energy, capable of cheering up even the most demotivated ones.

« What doesn’t kill you makes you stronger » was my very first impression about this vintage. In the end, after having overcome many ordeals, 2014 turns out to be built to really last.

 

André Ostertag, 24 november 2015

Retour sur le millésime 2015 et les vins de 2014 après mise en bouteille

2015: Saga d’un Millésime Hors Normes

– version pdf téléchargeable –

 

Episode 1: Bud Spencer vs Wim Wenders

La naissance d’un millésime bruisse toujours d’un flot de rumeurs qui se propage sur la toile à la vitesse de la lumière comme une maladie contagieuse.

Ces rumeurs tentent d’écrire l’histoire avant même que le moindre raisin n’ait été coupé, et 2015 commence de la meilleure des manières puisque tout démarre par une controverse.

D’un coté il y a ceux, dithyrambiques qui ont lu dans leur verre en cristal Lalique et y ont vu un nouveau millésime mythique, un 47 voire un 59 !
En ce qui me concerne, j’étais encore en orbite en 47 donc bien trop loin pour en parler.
Quant à 59, bien à l’abri dans le ventre de ma mère qui vaillamment a attendu la fin des vendanges pour accoucher, je n’ai souvenir ni du temps qu’il a fait, ni même du goût des raisins, isolé que j’étais dans mon caisson amniotique.
Et bien qu’ayant eu la chance de déguster plus tard quelques flacons de ces augustes années, en toute honnêteté, je ne saurai vraiment dire si 2015 est taillé dans le même sarment.

D’autres au contraire ont joué les Cassandre prédisant un millésime «bulldozer» écrasé par la chaleur et l’alcool.

Pour reprendre une métaphore cinématographique chère à Angelo Gaja aimant comparer ses vins à John Wayne et Marcello Mastroianni, réduire la qualité d’un vin à son seul potentiel d’alcool c’est comme réduire le cinéma à un immense western spaghetti concocté par Bud Spencer, exit le raffinement subtil d’un Wim Wenders, quid du cinéma d’auteur?
Tout cela n’équivaut-il pas à jauger la valeur d’un homme à son poids sur la balance, autant dire que je ne m’aventurerai pas dans de tels égarements.

 

Episode 2: D’Air, de feu et d’eau miraculeuse

Pourtant les chiffres du millésime sont là qui vous glacent le cerveau comme un brouillard de novembre venu plomber les derniers espoirs de beau temps.

Même si contrairement à ce que l’on pourrait croire, 2015 aura été une année très humide avec une pluviométrie de 703 mm de novembre 2014 à octobre 2015, ce qui est considérable eu égard à la moyenne de 562,5 mm des 36 dernières années, et cache en réalité une situation beaucoup plus complexe.

En effet, du 3 mai au 10 août, en pleine croissance de la vigne il n’a plu que 43,5 mm soit une sécheresse épouvantable pour une période aussi cruciale pour la plante.
Quant à la moyenne des températures annuelles, elle explose littéralement avec 13°95, soit presque 2° de plus que la moyenne la plus haute atteinte en 2014 avec 12°08, autant dire du jamais vu !

L’analyse des températures moyennes par décennie montre elle aussi une progression régulière d’environ 0,5° par décennie de 1980 à nos jours.

Ainsi la moyenne des années 80 fut de 10°04, celle des années 90 passe à 10°58, celle de la première décennie des années 2000 monte à 11°11 quant à la période récente de 2010 à 2015, le réchauffement s’est accéléré avec une progression de 0,5° en 6 ans soit 11°61 de moyenne.

Si tout cela ne ressemble pas à un emballement climatique, je veux bien avaler mon inséparable bonnet, qui quoi qu’il arrive sera sous peu devenu un accessoire tout à fait inutile !

Du coup, dans ma classification des millésimes par les 4 éléments, que j’ai débutée en 1980, 2015 est un cas unique devenant à ce jour le premier millésime Air / feu qui se caractérise par un tempérament Chaud et humide.
 
Les chiffres le prouvent, ce millésime aurait pu être catastrophique mais comme souvent avec la nature, il y eu un fait climatique inespéré qui a tout changé.

En effet cette longue période de sécheresse fut encadrée par deux pluies miraculeuses, l’une de 76 mm le week-end du 2 Mai et l’autre de 59 mm le 10 août.
Et l’on peut dire que ces 2 pluies ont littéralement sauvé 2015 et même permis de rêver à 47 ou 59, comme quoi les rêves eux aussi ne tiennent qu’à un fil (d’eau) !

 

Episode 3: X factor

Mais tout cela n’aurait peut-être pas été suffisant s’il n’y avait eu un autre facteur, je veux parler d’une énergie incommensurable, l’énergie des hommes et des femmes qui tout au long de l’année ont travaillé la vigne, l’ont entourée de leur bienveillance, l’ont rééquilibrée et harmonisée par la justesse de leurs gestes et leur pleine attention.

Le vigneron est un soleil pour sa vigne et on ne mesurera jamais assez le travail des hommes dans la réussite d’un millésime.

La preuve en est qu’en 2015 au domaine Ostertag, nous avons multiplié les tisanes de camomille, les thés d’achillée mille-feuille, de compost de bouse, d’extrait de cactée pour tempérer le feu du ciel et aider la vigne à gérer son eau.

Nous avons labouré et fait des griffages pour fabriquer une croûte anti-évaporation, sans oublier les semis de plante que nous avons roulés à plat pour en faire des pare-soleil, décidément nulle limite à l’imagination vigneronne!

Avec la vigne nous avons souffert de la soif et de la chaleur, nous l’avons aidée à porter ses raisins, nous l’avons accompagnée tout au long de son cycle et nous avons véritablement vécu ce millésime de l’intérieur, au cœur de sa sève.

Car au-delà des énergies primordiales de la terre et du ciel, bien au-delà du sol et du climat, il y a l’énergie des hommes et des femmes qui font la vigne.

Et cette énergie-là est vitale, c’est le facteur X, celui qui bouleverse les paramètres connus, on ne sait pas l’expliquer, du moins pas avec (2+2=4), on parle de main verte, de «green thumb» et en 2015 ce facteur X aura été plus que prépondérant car il aura permis à la vigne d’accomplir sa traversée du désert.

 

 équipe Albé

 

Episode 4: Harvest Chapter 36

Nous avons débuté les vendanges le 10 septembre, soit le surlendemain des mises en bouteille des 2014.

Même pas le temps de souffler, de prendre du recul et d’apprécier le travail accompli, que me voilà déjà projeté dans le millésime suivant avec une nouvelle page à écrire, le 36éme chapitre du grand livre de cave, œuvre d’une vie.

Si 2003 reste le millésime le plus précoce de ces 36 dernières années, avec des vendanges qui débutèrent le 1er septembre, 2015 est lui aussi unique en son genre avec des vendanges quasiment bouclées fin septembre, tous les vins secs étant rentrés en cave.

Les Pinot Gris ont été vendangés le 10 et 11 septembre, la famille des Pinots affectionnant  particulièrement la chaleur, ils étaient les premiers à être mûrs et je voulais absolument éviter de les alourdir pour en faire des vins secs et gras, parfaitement dans le style contemporain que nous défendons depuis toujours.

Les Pinot Blancs et Noirs ont suivi le 15 et 16 septembre, je n’ai jamais vu des raisins aussi sains, ce qui est très prometteur pour la suite.

Les Sylvaners ont été cueillis le 18 et 19 septembre, magnifiques, certes riches mais structurés comme des vins de garde, mais rassurez-vous on pourra aussi les boire jeunes, j’y tiens…

Les Rieslings eux craignent les grandes chaleurs, et furent du coup la grande interrogation du millésime.
Les vendanges se sont faites tambour battant dans la semaine du 21 au 26 septembre. Cette semaine fut particulièrement éprouvante mais nous avons réussi à les récolter à point.
Pour preuve cette petite parcelle de vieilles vignes de Muenchberg que nous avons cueillie  le 30 septembre, soit quatre jours plus tard pour en faire une cuvée hors norme, elle avait basculé au-delà des 15° d’alcool et fera un vin très différent des autres.

Les Gewurztraminers auront finalement été les seules vendanges d’Octobre, ils sont riches comme il se doit, mais sans botrytis, l’année n’y étant pas prédisposée.
Et comme nos vignes sont particulièrement réfractaires à la pourriture, signe de grande harmonie du végétal, elle oppose une barrière infranchissable à toutes les pourritures, les pires comme les plus nobles !

Finalement tous les raisins sans exception auront été d’une beauté plastique parfaite et d’une pureté gustative rarement atteinte ; 2015 a tout de «l’esprit sain dans  un corps sain» pour reprendre une citation célèbre du poète Juvénal.

La bonne surprise vient tout de même des Rieslings qui grâce à un mois de septembre aux amplitudes thermiques dignes d’un mois d’Octobre, auront eu cette alternance de froid nocturne et de chaleur diurne qui leur est absolument nécessaire pour atteindre leur perfection.

2015 aura surtout prouvé que lorsqu’on entoure sa vigne de soins attentifs, elle se surpasse et sait dépasser les conditions hostiles pour emmener son raisin à l’excellence.

 

Episode 5: De transmettre pour durer

Le premier vin du domaine a été fait par mon père en 1966 et j’ai pris le relais en 1980.
Mon père aura ainsi vinifié 14 années quant à moi, j’en suis à ma 36ème vendange mais 2015 restera avant tout gravée dans l’histoire du domaine comme son cinquantième millésime.

Mais au-delà de ce 50ème anniversaire, 2015 est aussi le premier millésime de mon fils Arthur qui travaille à nos côtés depuis le 1er septembre et vient de faire ses premières gammes en cave.

C’est un moment émouvant dans l’histoire d’un domaine comme dans la vie d’un père, de passer le relais à son fils, cela me fait penser à un 4x100m, cette course où tout se joue au passage de témoin, qu’il faut réussir sur plusieurs foulées avec un tempo parfaitement synchronisé entre les deux relayeurs.

Il en est de même en viticulture, il faut se synchroniser pour bien transmettre, il faut accorder l’explosivité de la jeunesse au pas chaloupé de la sagesse, et aussi accepter qu’une nouvelle insouciance vienne repousser les murs de la raison.
Et pour moi qui fut longtemps l’agitateur de bouteille, le «terroiriste» de service, celui qui empêchait de déguster en rond, passer ainsi de l’autre côté du miroir est une sensation bien étrange, c’est une nouvelle situation qui me permet aujourd’hui de mieux comprendre mon propre père et la patience qu’il a eue lorsque j’avais moi-même l’âge d’Arthur.

Transmettre c’est un exercice d’équilibriste, il faut donner et lâcher prise tout en restant présent, il faut accompagner sans contraindre, savoir taire son ego et accepter d’être bousculé dans ses habitudes.
Transmettre vient du latin «transmissio» qui signifie «laisser aller au-delà», transmettre s’apparente donc à un véritable apprentissage du détachement, c’est une sacrée leçon de vie et en quelque sorte un chemin vers soi-même.

C’est étrange ce qu’une vie d’homme ressemble à une vie de vin, combinaison de subtil et de durée, d’esprit chevillé à un corps en un tout irrémédiablement façonné par le temps.
Et si la vigne nous permet de nous ouvrir au monde extérieur, nous situant mieux dans l’univers entre l’infiniment grand et l’infiniment petit, le vin, lui nous fait comprendre notre chimie intérieure, nos transformations intimes, notre biologie des profondeurs, nous révélant à notre propre impermanence.

Accepter cette impermanence est un travail sur soi-même qui aide à mieux vieillir.
Et si bien vieillir est le privilège des grands vins, ceux ancrés dans la terre, reliés au ciel et transcendés par l’art du vigneron, savoir vieillir est un autre art, un art du détachement qui passe par une transmission de son savoir, savoir-faire et savoir-être, soit une merveilleuse façon de dépasser sa propre impermanence et de s’inscrire dans la durée.
     
En cela, 2015 est et restera au domaine Ostertag un millésime exceptionnel, parce qu’avec Arthur, Boris et Thomas c’est toute une génération qui s’apprête à perpétuer l’aventure commencée par mon père et ma mère en 1966.

A nous, avec eux, de convertir toutes ces bonnes paroles en vins qui sauront surpasser tous les discours et émerveiller vos sens aiguisés !

 

 

André Ostertag, Vigneron.
Epfig le 8 Novembre 2015.

 

 

2014 : impressions après les mises d’automne

– version pdf téléchargeable –

 

Plus je goûte mes 2014 et plus ils me font penser à de jeunes poulains fougueux.

Tout juste avant mise, les vins étaient magnifiques, plein d’agilité et d’insouciance comme ces jeunes poulains qui s’ébattent dans leur pré tout surpris de découvrir les sensations nouvelles de leur corps.

Puis vient le temps de la mise, un moment difficile pour de jeunes vins indisciplinés .

Cela correspond au moment où le poulain est sorti du pré de son enfance, mais pour découvrir l’autre côté de la clôture, il faut accepter le licol des hommes et là le poulain se raidit, se contracte de tout son être et rue désespérément dans les brancards.

Les 2014 eurent une réaction similaire après mise, et leur délicate innocence disparut dans une crispation globale qui bloqua les vins.

Mais peu à peu les vins se sont décontractés, reprenant confiance en eux, les vins de fruit d’abord puis les autres suivirent dans l’ordre hiérarchique, les plus grands et souvent les plus fiers en dernier, le Muenchberg daignant tout juste récemment détendre un sourcil.

Voilà pourquoi mes 2014 me font tant penser à ces jeunes poulains fiers, futurs purs sangs prêt à défier l’espace pour de longues chevauchées fantastiques.

2014 est sans aucun doute un millésime de caractère avec beaucoup de race qui saura traverser le temps sans faillir, c’est un millésime tout en muscle et en finesse, doté d’une incroyable énergie, une énergie palpable, régénérante et capable de regonfler les plus démotivés.

«Ce qui ne tue pas rends plus fort» aura été ma toute première impression de ce millésime, finalement 2014 qui a survécu à bien des épreuves, s’avère vraiment être taillé pour durer.

 

André Ostertag, Vigneron.
Epfig le 24 novembre 2015.